My Camera is broke!

Here I am, in Radolfzell am Bodensee, only 18 days left in my trip, and the most catastrophic thing that could possibly ever happen, next me me losing my Travel Journal (which has already happened) is my Camera breaking.

The day started out very nicely, I was awoken to the sound of children playing outside, light was gleaming in through the blinds covering the windows, it was roughly 10:00 in the morning, birds were chirping. I get up, find a note from my Host Doris saying she was out at the Market and would be back at about 11. Sure enough she was, we shared some breakfast together, did a little chit chat, and then due to some issues, she was unable to work at home today. But she talked to me a little bit about the way the town her is laid out, suggested places to go, and last but not least, she loaned me a bike to use to cruise the town with!!! She even gave me a little hug good bye. Everything was going great for the first hour or so, and then I went on top of a little tower to view the lake on. It was a great view, I figured I should have a picture of my self there. With no one around to take the picture for me, I figured I would do a self timed picture. No big deal, I have done them in the past with no problems what so ever. So I set the time for 10 seconds. Set my camera on a flat surface, and what happens? A gust of wind blows my camera over and it falls about 3 feet to the wooden base below!!! I picked it up to inspect the damage. It was still working find so I thought, I was even able to take a few pictures with it. The problems came when I wanted to turn it off and keep going along the bike path. The lens was jammed and unable to go back inside. After further inspection I noticed that it was slightly crooked, so I tried to correct it, which helped a little, but the lens could still not go back in side. And now at this point I am unable to even turn the camera on again to take pictures because my camera freaks out because the lens is neither in, nor out all the way!

It’s a good thing I bought a warranty on it though, and then I remembered three things. 1, I have no where to have the camera shipped back to me after it’s repaired (or replaced). 2, The amount of time it takes for these things to get worked out is just not worth it. 3, even if I wanted to have it shipped out, I would have to have a phone number for the company to reach me and I would have to be where ever I managed to get it shipped back to so that I could pick it up, which would distort my travel plans. So I guess I’ll just suffer with out pictures for the next 18 days.

How about some positive talk now though. Today after the accident I rode about 20 more kilometers did some sight seeing, and then rode back the way I came. I found a very nice little spot to swim so I pulled over, got in my swimming shorts and hopped in. The water was a bit cold, but it felt so good, especially after riding the bike around for the last 2 hours, and it was very easy to adjust to the waters temperature. After being in the water for about 15 or 20 minutes I decided to hop out, dry off, and go back to my hosts Flat so that I could take the laundry she so kindly offered to do for me out of the washing machine and hang it up so that I would be dry for me in the morning. And that’s how I got here to writing this!

That’s all for now, more exciting news to come soon!

-Noodles Out!

Leave a Reply

