Self Education

A while back, about a year and a half ago I’d say, while browsing through one 4chans Technology /g/ board I came across a post about a free Online University that was designed and taught by some of the best college professors in the country. There wasn’t to much info about, but I checked it out because at the time I was very interested in learning more about computer science, and programming to be specific, and the first course I came across was CS101: Introduction to computer science, Building a Search Engine. I enrolled immediately to give this a try, but of course my enrollment was late, and at the time the courses were not open to join at any time, the ran like a typical college would hold class. Everyone started at the same time, and finished at the same time. So I waited, and when it finally came time to start, I did. About a week later though I quit my job and started traveling and no longer had the time to keep up with the class and learn.

Udacity is what I am talking about. If you haven’t heard of it, it’s well worth checking out. Now that I finally have the time for the first time in a year, I have re-enrolled in the CS101 class and am going through the class at my own pace. So far I seem to be learning quite a bit and I am very please with this. I’ll admit, even though the course description does say anyone can do this no matter what experience you may have. It’s still pretty difficult the farther you progress and I’d say that having at least a background in some web design would be very helpful. This is a programming class (that I am taking, their are other classes available of course) And without at least a little bit of familiarity with writing code, this will be very difficult.

I have found 15-30 minute blocks at a time is best for me to absorb the most information. The Lecture videos are not the most exciting, while it is awesome to learn, it’s good to take a break! So i watch 3 to 5 videos and take a break for a few hours and go back to. It seems to be working for me so far.

What is also great about this website is if you actually complete your course, and pass, you can get a certificate of completion that shows what you did. I believe on their website somewhere I read that over 400 different companies will recognize these certificates for employment consideration as well, which is phenomenal.  College might not be right for everyone, but if you still have the desire to learn something new, or at the very least exercise your brain, this is a great alternative. And it’s free!

So that’s that. Check it out. Maybe you’ll enjoy it as much as I am.

In other news. yesterday I had the sutures removed from my tongue. Everything feels a whole lot better now. I am still a bit swollen and sore, but that is all normal. it looks great though! When It’s fully healed I will make a full write about about my experience and perhaps take another video of my talking with my new tongues and demonstrate how it moves now.

Tah tah for now!

Leave a Reply

