Drop Box

By now, I’m sure most people have heard of cloud storage, or online data storage. I gotta say, I have never been a fan, I don’t trust it, I don’t feel safe uploading my personal files to the the Internet, even if there is nothing to hide. The fact that it is put online is a risk in my opinion. But I guess I’m just paranoid, I know enough to be scared.  But, when I signed up for drop box, I figured it would be a great way to share files with friends or access certain documents (mostly pictures) from computers that weren’t mine. After about 8 months of not using this service, I am very glad I did, and even more glad that I had my old phone synced up with it. Because when my phone crashed and died I thought that I lost all of my pictures, travel pictures, pictures people had sent me, videos, and all that good stuff. I just logged into my account to find that I had all of that backed up online! Lucky me.

Currently I am going through everything, and what a flashback. The majority of the pictures are from the last year while I was away traveling the country, and a good chunk from my time living in Boston.

The amount of storage you get is not very great, starts out at 2gb of free storage, but there are opportunities to increase the amount of storage available to you. At the time of writing this I have 3.4GB  of space to save my data. You can increase this by referring people, going through a tutorial, syncing your phone, uploading your first file, or if you need mega storage you can also purchase more for a monthly service fee. Depending on the amount of data you have that you need stored you can decided what is best. But if you have more than 100gbs of data. I would suggest a service such as Carbonite. While I was working at Staples we sold Carbonite, and it was only 60 bucks for a full year of unlimited online storage and back up.

At the very lease though, my suggestion would be to sign up for Drop Box, and have your phone set up to sync your data off of there. Because if you are anything like me you probably don’t back up all of your pictures and video to your computer, or a hard drive, or even a thumb drive. They just sit on your phone taking up space, some of them get uploaded to Facebook or twitter, but the rest are just dormant files. What happens if your phone takes a shit on you though? Not all of my files were backed up to the MicroSD card in my phone, they were on the internal storage as well. My entire phone fried though, and I wasn’t able to save this files when my phone died. Thankfully they all backed up to Dropbox though!

I can tell I am starting to Ramble now. But hey, if I made at least one person aware, then I guess this post has served a purpose! Check it out. Dropbox.com

Leave a Reply

