Ranting

My daily news source online comes from Rawstory.com. I find the news there to be rather reliable, up to date, and covering the topics I care about the most, and far less one sided than most major news sources on the Internet and television. Today as the home page loaded, I clicked through the headlines to see what was hot in the news. As an openly gay citizen, headlines involving LGBT anything catch my eye and draw me in instantly. Today when I clicked on the article titled Indiana teacher wants straight prom because LGBT people have no ‘purpose’ I was outraged after reading only the first sentence! I encourage anyone reading my rant, to please go and read the article. For those who are to lazy, fear not, Here are some lines I am quoting for you.

A special education teacher from Sullivan, Indiana is joining a group of students, parents and other Christians in the community who are calling for a prom that bans LGBT people because she says they have no “purpose in life.”
Raw Story (http://s.tt/1zDsf)
 —

WTWO-TV reporter Paige Preusse asked Medley if she thought “gay people had some sort of purpose in life.”

After taking a deep breath, the teacher replied: “I don’t. I personally don’t. I’m sorry. I just — I don’t understand it… A gay student or adult or person isn’t going to come up isn’t going to come up and make some change, unless it’s because they realize, ‘You know what? It was a choice and I’m choosing God.’”

Raw Story (http://s.tt/1zDsf)

This should give you enough of an idea of the level of bigotry that has set me off today. I’m not going to talk much about this, because I could go on forever and ever. And thankfully a friend of mine saw a quick rant from my facebook about this and shared a link to a story on Change.org asking for the termination of employment.
However my feelings are still very strong for topics like this. No one should be subjected to this kind of hate, bigotry, and insensitivity, especially young people! I really don’t care how you feel about gay people, or black people, or illegal immigrants, or any other minority, but there are just some things you need to keep to yourself, because you never know when someone around you is going to affected, and what’s worse, they may be silent effected, and you won’t know until it’s to late.
Please go and sign the petition to have this evil person removed from the education system!

Diana Medley is a Special Educaiton teacher in the Northeast School Corporation of Sullivan County and spoke ON CAMERA to WTWO-TV saying that “Being Gay Is A Choice…” Then went on to tell a television reporter that gay people don’t have a purpose in life? This is woman teaching our children — including openly gay students. Gay Teenagers have the HIGHEST rate of suicide in our country, surely Mrs. Medley’s lack of concern for their emotional and mental well-being, as well as her mis-understanding of their purpose in life makes her a threat to not only students in her classroom, but, in her community! – Change.org Sign Here

Finally, let me leave you with this video clip from Prayers For Bobby.
Leave a Reply

