Time Sure Is Flying

It seems like I just arrived in Vegas only a few short weeks ago, but it’s already been three and a half months since then. So wild. Anyways, just a quick update on everything with my job, and future plans with me. The job itself is going good, I finished training, was assigned two clients, made contact with the first and have started my basic skills sessions with this client. It started out slow, and is still going slow. I go over to his house five days a week and two hours each of those days to work with him on his behavior and anger mostly, there are some other issues that will be addressed as well, but everything seems to stem from anger and behavioral issues. I gotta say it’s not really easy work. We mostly talked, I should say I mostly talked for the length of each session, which is proving to be non-helpful because he can’t focus for that long and he’s heard it all before, and I’m pretty sure its as boring for him as it is for me. Since starting I have been doing a lot of research on how to keep the attention of my clients who have ADD/ADHD and other issues. On Friday I went to turn in my hours and also took a look at some books and was able to copy some worksheets out of them to address anger with my client. The worksheets were awesome, but as we were unable to have our session at his home, his mother and self suggested we sit at the park, I don’t think any progress was made because of all the distractions around us, and of course the desire to go and play. Next week I am planning to head out to the main office and do some more reading before I meet with this client, and gather some ideas for more activities we can do that might be fun, or at least engaging so we can start making some progress. Hopefully I can find some good stuff, cause I gotta say, it hit me hard when I started thinking about how serious my role is in this child’s life. If I don’t do my job right, it has a direct effect on his life and well being!

Enough about work though I do have a life. Finally I gave the courts a call in Illinois, ugh, never a fun call to make especially when you owe money. At least now I know when my payment is due, and how much it is. $404.00 is due by March 25th. Lovely. On top of this I also owe $155.00 on my cell phone bill. Thank goodness I got my taxes back so I can cough all of it up to bills and fines. And because I am just starting with my new job I do not have enough hours to cover these expenses just by my first two checks! So I’m really going to hurting for money this month, and into next month as well. This also means that I will not be able to escape the country to Europe in May like I was really hoping to do. This is a huge bummer, but it will allow me to save up money, get in shape, and start preparing for my next big adventure.

As far as eventually getting my own personal website/blog up and running with hopes to stop using Facebook. I am still unsure when this will happen, I”m still trying to figure out costs, and how much time this type of thing will take. I’m a pretty lazy person, so getting around to actually designing a website and all that good stuff is gonna take time, especially considering I haven’t really worked with web design in quite some time. Although I have been taking courses through Udacity to further my knowledge of this type of stuff, and to also get back in mindset of writing code and troubleshooting related issues.  I will keep updates on this every now and again.

Finally the last bit of news, maybe it’s already been covered. But I got my navel (belly button, for those of you who don’t know what a navel is) pierced. I’ve been wanting to do it for quite some time now and finally got around to just doing it! Shane Von Ranniger at the Piercing Shop in Las Vegas, Nevada did it for me and it was done very well. We put in some fancy bling bling made by Anatometal. With green gems (Princess Cut), and we also anodized the piece a s very  nice shade of blue that goes perfectly with the green. We didn’t take a picture of it when I was fresh because I was bleeding a little bit, so I’ll be sure to take a good picture once it has fully healed, it’s to fabulous not to! That’s pretty much it though!

Leave a Reply

