Coding

Recently I have made a couple posts talking about my desires to start my own website and what not, and use it to ultimately end my Facebook addiction (I’m not really addicted). I’ve been taking courses about programming through Udacity. The other day I saw an awesome video that Mark Zuckerberg (Founder of Facebook) titled What Most Schools Don’t Teach, which I encourage all of you to take the time to watch, it’s only five minutes! And then just today I was doing a little bit of research on jobs available to people who know how to code. One of the first pages I cam across was an article on CNN.com titled Learn To Code, Get A Job. Pretty simple. Here are a couple lines from the article, which is also worth a quick read if you have the time.

It’s time Americans begin treating computer code the way we do the alphabet or arithmetic.

We are socializing, working, consuming, and living in a world increasingly defined by programs. Learning to code is the best way to understand what all those programs do, or even to recognize that they are there in the first place.

 

If you know how to code, you can get a high-paying job right now, or make valuable stuff right now. You will understand more about how the world works, and become a participating member in the digital society unfolding before us

After reading the article, I took a visit to the websites that it linked to, these being Code Academy and Code Year. Both very awesome websites striving to reach the same goal of teaching people how to code…for FREE. Currently I am giving Code Academy a try doing the HTML course. I have background with web programming, so it’s very basic for me. But I can say that the activities are very interactive and get you learning faster than any other online tutorial website I have used in the past. When I learned how to build websites it wasn’t this easy, interactive, or really as much fun, and there was a lot more reading to get through. Code Academy really cuts to the chase and explains things in an easy to understand way, and I think anyone would be able to learn using these tutorials. Code year looks to be the same type of thing, but more of a pledge, that you are agreeing to learn something new in the year of 2013, and create a website, or game from code, all on your by following courses/tutorials proved by the website.  Here is a screen shot

Code YearPretty nifty. Nothing to lose, and every thing to gain! Heck, learning to code could even change your life and and open up so many new doors. Give it a try. I’m taking things a lot more seriously now that I have the time, and desire again.

Anywho, that’s all I really have to say on that. I love this type of stuff, and I wish more people would learn to code, including myself.

Leave a Reply

