Work, Work, Work!

Hard to believe that only a few short months ago I was that guy with a pack on my back, flying a sign at on a street corner or freeway off-ramp begging for spare change. Now I’m a working man, and still looking for a better job. Currently working with Majestic Mental Health, which is going good, it’s just lots of work outside of dealing with clients, driving, and going to monthly meetings. I can’t complain to much though, the wage is good, and there is a lot of freedom and flexibility.  Is it really all that great? I’m not willing to sacrifice this job for another job that would not be worth me time though.

For instance, the other day I got a call while I was at dinner with the family. It was the manager from a local Puma store asking to have me for an interview on Tuesday (today). Of course I accepted the offer. I got all dressed up, went into the interview and answered all of the generic questions such as “describe a time when you gave excellent customer service.” It wasn’t until the end of the interview that I was told that they were only looking for part time associates, and the location I would be working if hired was 60 miles outside of town! Right then and there I decided it was not worth my time.

As much as not having to write my own schedule, not off the clock work,  and only going to the same place to work really do appeal me. Driving that much just isn’t what I want to do. The gas alone would take up the majority of my wages! At least in my current position I am making enough to cover my gas, and still have left over money to live somewhat comfortable and have a little bit to save.

So I’ll continue working my health job until something better comes along. To be completely honest though, with as lazy as I am, I probably won’t be looking for work very hard. There is enough on my plate right now, and my time is valuable! The weather is warming up and it’s time to have some fun!

Yesterday I set up the rail out in the street in front of the house and started practicing the grinds and slides I used to be able to do on my skateboard. Soon I’m sure I’ll be able to do everything I used to be able to do. Along with skateboarding I’m looking forward to the heat rolling in so that I can head down to the water and start swimming and jumping off some cliffs again! And I’d also like to start learning how to boulder and rock climb this year. I know that there are some people who go out weekly in a group formed on CouchSurfing. I see some fun times ahead though.

That’s all I’ve got now. Rants and rambles! Toodles!

Job Inteview Attire

Job Inteview Attire

Leave a Reply

