What A Ride

You know, lately I have been kind of speechless and had much of nothing to say. However the last couple days have given me a few things to write about. First on the list would be that I did get a new job. Finally a job that I wanted, that I enjoy, and that I wake up each morning excited about driving to. I started on Saturday working out in the Dunes of the Desert outside Las Vegas. When I finish training I will be a dune buggy tour guide! It’s pretty awesome. Some really hard physical work, but that’s a lot of the reason I like it aside from this being a totally fun job that anyone would be lucky to have. I am currently struggling this week, as I was scheduled to work out in the dunes Monday and then again on Thursday. I have to shake loose my other job with the Mental Health agency, which is a bit difficult to do. But I have so far opened up my weekends, and made it possible to work from as early as the desert calls in the morning, to as late as  3pm. When I was hired over the phone, my new boss did say he would be understanding and didn’t want me to burn any bridges. My hopes is that he remains this way the next couple weeks while I try and get rid of my job with Majestic.

Let’s see. For a small rant. I hate Morning Radio. Now that I am up around 5am every day or earlier for this job, I listen to music to keep me awake and alert while driving. But for some reason public radio stations assume everyone wants to listen to a stupid talk show in the mornings. Every single station had some kind of talk show on and would maybe play one song every half hour! That’s not what I wanted to hear, that is boring and annoying. Your talk shows suck Las Vegas! Since I don’t have an iPod, or any music on my computer to burn to CD’s I can’t even fix my problem unless I go out and spend money I don’t really have for that type of entertainment. End Rant. :D

Yesterday I met up with some cool Aussie guys that are out travelling the world. They first made contact with me through Couchsurfing.org and I have followed them since then. The last couple days they have been in Vegas and a shot them a message hoping to take them out into the desert and show them some other attractions most tourists miss out on in their drunken madness for the length of the their visit. So I picked up em at Hooters Hotel on Topicana, and headed out past the old mining town of Nelson and made out way to the river. Jumped off some cliffs despite the weather not being ideal for swimming, and the water being much cooler than refreshing. And then we all hopped back in car after making a detour hike around the mountain, and checked out Hoover Dam for a quick visit and photo opportunity. Cool guys they were, hope to meet them at another time in another place! Check out their facebook.

And that would be all that is going on in my life. Sorry for the lack of writing, but nothing all that special has been going on up until the last week. Cheers! Hope April is going good for everyone.

Leave a Reply

